Society Islands




J. Hales


French Polynesia

Major Habitat Type

Oceanic Islands

Drainages flowing into

Pacific Ocean.

Main rivers to other water bodies

The Faaroa River on Raiatea is the only navigable river in the Society Islands.



The Society Islands are a group of islands within French Polynesia located in the South Pacific Ocean. They are divided into the Winward and Leeward islands. The largest and most notable islands in the group are Tahiti, Moorea, Raiatea, Bora Bora, and Huahine.


The islands are volcanic in origin, and also include some coral atolls. The largest peak is Mt. Orohena (2241 asl) on Tahiti.

Terrestrial habitats

The terrestrial ecoregion is Society Islands tropical moist forests [OC0113] (WWF 2001).

Description of endemic fishes

The only endemic on the islands is the flagtail, Kuhlia malo.

Justification for delineation

The Society Islands ecoregion was defined on the basis of distinctive (endemic or near-endemic) fish faunas. Regional species sources included Keith et al. (2002).


  • World Wildlife Fund (WWF) (2001) \Terrestrial Ecoregions of the World\ "<"">"
  • Keith, P.,Vigneux, E.;Marquet, G. (2002). "Atlas des Poissons et des Crustacés d'Eau Douce de Polynésie Française" 55 Paris, France: MNHN.